How to Restrict Customer Detail Access on Mobile App

Mobile Phone AppUpdated 20 Sep 20262 min read

You may not want every mechanic to see customer phone numbers and addresses on their phone. This article shows you how to restrict customer contact details in the mobile app for selected user groups.

If you want to restrict your mechanics from seeing the contact details (address, phone number) of the clients you can turn off their access to these details by following these steps.

1. Click on Admin (1) in the left-hand sidebar menu, then select Users (2).

Two cropped screenshots of Workshop Software's Dashboard. A cursor numbered 1 indicates to click "Admin", an arrow indicates the second screenshots opens and a cursor numbered 2 indicates to click Users.

2. Double click or click on the pencil icon for the Mobile User login details you want to edit.

A screenshot of the Users page inside Workshop Software's Admin settings. The pencil icon of a Mobile User is highlighted and a cursor indicates a click.

3. Click on the Limit Customer Information toggle so that it displays Yes.

A screenshot of the Mobile Users settings card. The Limit Customer Information toggle is set to "Yes and highlighted. The Save button is highlighted and a cursor indicates a click.

4. Click the green Save button to save the changes you have made.

Now when the mechanic taps on the job card, they will only see the name of the person or any contact names (if it's a Company). They will not see any phone or address details of the customer.

A screenshot of a Mobile App Customer, showing how limit customer information shows only name and company name.

Good to Know

  • When Customer information is Limited the Mobile App user may only create new Bookings and Jobs for Customers that already exist in your Workshop Software account, you cannot enter a new Customer.
  • You can find this option under Settings > Admin in the left-hand menu.
  • Make sure you click Save after making your changes. If you navigate away before saving, your changes will be lost.
  • This setting can be toggled on or off at any time. The setting updates immediately once you click Save but users may need to log out and log back in for the change to take effect.

Frequently Asked Questions

Will this change affect existing invoices for this customer?

Changes to customer details apply to future invoices. Existing completed invoices retain the details that were on the invoice at the time it was created.

Also Explore

Was this article helpful?