How to Add an Additional User

Help Desk and GuidesUpdated 25 Sep 20264 min read

You may add additional Web App and Mobile App users to your Workshop Software subscription, this article explains how to add a new Web App user, to add a Mobile App users please review this article.

Please note: Additional Web App users of Workshop Software will incur an additional charge, the cost is listed in the top right hand corner of the Users card. If you are a yearly subscriber this will be calculated as a pro-rata rate based on today's day and when your subscription is due to renew.

Add a User

You may add Web App User logins in Workshop Software's Admin section, you need to have Admin group access to add an additional user.

  • In the left hand sidebar menu click Admin (1), then select Users (2).
Two cropped screenshots of Workshop Software's Dashboard. A cursor numbered 1 indicates to click "Admin", an arrow indicates the second screenshots opens and a cursor numbered 2 indicates to click Users.

  • ln the Users card click New User to create a new User Login.
A screenshot of the Users card, the + icon used to add a new user is highlighted

  • Select Web App and Mobile App settings, these are explained below.
    • It is important to assign the appropriate User Group and adjust your Dashboard and Business Intelligence toggles at this time if you wish to limit access to system functions.
    • We strongly suggest including a mobile phone number, this number will be used as an alternative destination for 2FA codes when logging in.
  • When you have completed the required information click the green Save button to create the new user, the additional charge will be processed to your systems current payment method.
A screenshot of a User's details, the Save button is highlighted.

User Settings Explained

A users access to the Web App and Mobile App is controlled by the Group to which they belong and the settings chosen in their users page.

Web App Settings

A cropped screenshot of a User's Web App Details, the settings are numbered.
FieldWhat it does
1. GroupA users' Group controls their access rights in Workshop Software, this article explains each Group and the access it enables.
2. StatusAn Active user may login to workshop software, the Inactive and Blocked status both prevent login, Inactive is intended as a temporary deactivation for when you will reuse the user account in the future and Blocked for when you would like to Block a user from logging in immediately.
3 to 4. NameUser accounts must have both a First and Last Name.
5. EmailA user's email is used along with their password to login to Workshop Software and will also be used for two factor authentication codes and password reset emails.
6. MobileWe suggest always including a mobile phone number, which may be used as an alternative for two factor authentication codes.
7. Dashboard PrivilegesWhen enabled the user has full access Workshop Software's Dashboard information including your business' sales figures.
8. Business IntelligenceBusiness Intelligence charts and reports are available for Gold and higher subscribers, when enabled the user has access to a Workshop Overview along with Customer, Vehicle and Product dashboards.
9. PasswordA Password is required, this must be at least 8 characters long and contain a capital letter.

Mobile App Settings

A cropped screenshot of a users Mobile App settings, the settings are numbered.
FieldWhat it does
10. Show Mechanic FeaturesEnables the ability to Clock On and Off Jobs and receive Mechanic specific Notifications, you must also assign a Mechanic in
11. Limit Customer InformationHides customer contact details in the app.
12. Advanced UserUnlocks products and invoices in the app, this feature is available to Gold subscribers and above.
13. Show PricingWhen enabled the user will see the retail price of Products in the Mobile App.
14. Process InvoicesWhen enabled the user is able to Process Invoices and record Payment Transactions.
15. Limit Event TimesWhen enabled the user cannot create new Bookings, assign Mechanics or modify Bookings.
16. MechanicSearch for and select one of your Mechanics to associate with this user, each Mechanic may only be associate with on Web App or Mobile App user account.
17. AdminThe user will receive push notifications on the phone for New Booking Requests and Payments Received.
18. MechanicOnly relevant when the user had an associated Mechanic, they will be notified of New Assigned Jobs and receive a Clock-out Reminder if clocked on after hours. A mechanic is only notified about jobs assigned to them.
Not Pictured. Show Dealership FeaturesUsed by dealership businesses only.

Also Explore

Was this article helpful?