Voiding an invoice looks like a quick fix, but it can leave your accounting system, stock and customer history out of step. This article explains what voiding actually does and when a credit note or an edit is the safer option.
When the VOID facility is used for an invoice, there are several impacts in Workshop Software including:- The invoice is permanently removed from Workshop Software and any linked accounting package;
- Sales figures are adjusted to remove the value of the transaction;
- Time logged using the mobile app will be deleted, impacting on reporting for mechanic performance;
- Any products on the invoice will be removed and returned to inventory.
- If the invoice has been issued to the customer, there is an inconsistency between the records held by the workshop and the customer which can effect future enquiries related to the invoice;
- A history of VOIDED transactions can be a red flag during any compliance audit (eg ATO) as it can be indicative of tax avoidance behaviour;
- VOIDED transactions can be a method used to disguise fraudulent behaviour, particularly by team members;
- If used to remove unpaid/bad debts, it can reduce your ability to recover the debt in future through legal means (eg as part of a Receivership dividend).
Good to Know
- If you have an accounting integration enabled, this change will sync to your accounting system on the next sync cycle.
- This feature is also available on the Workshop Software mobile app if you have mobile access enabled on your account.
Related Articles
- Why am I automatically logged out of Workshop Software?
- Why has an invoice/payment not synced to your accounting system
- Why are my invoices not syncing to MYOB?