Workshop Software vs GaragePlug
Workshop Software and GaragePlug are both cloud workshop platforms built for different parts of the world. GaragePlug was founded in 2017, incubated at IIM Bangalore, and is built for multi-outlet chains in India, the Gulf and Southeast Asia, with WhatsApp as its main customer channel. It does not publish pricing. Workshop Software publishes its prices, connects natively to QuickBooks Online and Xero, and has 261 published reviews. GaragePlug rates very well with the customers it has, and accounting is where the two diverge most.
What is Workshop Software?
Workshop Software is cloud workshop management software for independent automotive workshops, mechanical repairers and multi-site groups. It runs the booking diary and workboard, job cards, quoting and invoicing, inventory, digital inspections, automated service reminders and a customer portal, with reporting through Workshop Intelligence. It is a listed app on the Intuit QuickBooks App Store, and connects natively to QuickBooks Online and Xero on every plan. Vehicle technical data comes through native Mitchell 1 ProDemand and PartsTech integrations on any plan, and vehicle lookup is included at no extra charge through Carfax. There are free native apps for iOS and Android, and on Gold and above the app carries the full job workflow. Pricing starts at USD $149 per month on annual billing, published on the website. There is a 14 day free trial with full features and no credit card required, and no lock-in contract. See full pricing.
What is GaragePlug?
GaragePlug is a cloud workshop platform from GaragePlug Inc, registered in Newark, Delaware, with an office in Bengaluru, India. The developer of record on both app stores is Increminds Private Limited. It was founded in early 2017 and incubated at NSRCEL at IIM Bangalore, and acquired the AI review platform Freshreview in March 2025. It covers job cards, digital and video inspections, inventory with inter-branch transfers, online bookings, invoicing, loyalty, bay and shift management, annual maintenance contracts, and multi-outlet reporting. It runs separate portals for India and the rest of the world, and it also sells Gia, a standalone AI voice product for handling inbound calls. GaragePlug does not publish pricing. Its pricing page reads “Pay fair. Only pay for what you use” and asks you to book a call. Its own country claims range from 12 to 15 depending on which page you read, and its Capterra profile says 25.
Feature Comparison
| Feature | Workshop Software | GaragePlug |
|---|---|---|
| QuickBooks Online | Native, and a listed app on the Intuit QuickBooks App Store | No published integration. Third-party directories list one, their own documentation does not |
| Native Xero integration | Yes, two-way, every plan | A Xero data export appears in their changelog. No Xero page, no Xero App Store listing |
| Published pricing | Yes, on the website, in four currencies | No. Book a call. The US App Store lists in-app tiers at $199.99, $299.99 and $399.99 |
| Vehicle technical data | Mitchell 1 ProDemand and PartsTech, on any plan | TecDoc parts and vehicle data, in 12 Middle East countries only. No labour times database |
| Labour times | Yes, through Mitchell 1 ProDemand | No |
| Vehicle lookup | Included through Carfax, on any plan | VIN-based history lookup |
| Digital inspections | Yes, Gold and above | Yes, including video with AI guidance |
| Native mobile app | Yes, free on iOS and Android, with the full job workflow | Yes. 4.4 from 90 on Google Play, 4.0 from 5 ratings on the App Store |
| Reporting and analytics | Workshop Intelligence, included on Gold and Platinum | Business Analytics, around 14 documented reports. No benchmarking |
| Multi-outlet operations | Yes, on Platinum, priced per site | Yes, with inter-branch stock transfers. This is their core strength |
| WhatsApp as a customer channel | No | Yes, positioned as the preferred channel |
| Loyalty and maintenance contracts | Not separate modules | Yes, loyalty, AMC, bay and shift modules |
| Markets served | Australia, New Zealand, the United States, the United Kingdom and South Africa | India, the Gulf and Southeast Asia. Separate India and global portals |
| Free trial | 14 days, every feature, no credit card | 7 days |
| Support | 24 hour human chat, plus phone and email in Australia and the United Kingdom | India and global portals. No published hours for other regions |
| Onboarding | Human one to one, included | Not stated |
| Independent reviews | 261 across Google, Capterra and the Xero App Store | 4.9 from 36 on G2, 4.8 from 56 on Capterra, 4.2 from 14 on Techjockey |
Pricing Comparison
| Workshop Software | GaragePlug | |
|---|---|---|
| Published pricing | Yes | No. Book a call for a quote |
| Entry price | USD $149 per month on annual billing | Quote only |
| What the App Store shows | Not applicable | US App Store in-app tiers at $199.99, $299.99 and $399.99 per month, contents not explained |
| Additional users | USD $20 per user per month | Quote only |
| Annual discount | Yes, on the website | Quote only |
| Free trial | 14 days, every feature, no credit card | 7 days |
| Lock-in | None | Not disclosed |
There is no price to compare here, because GaragePlug does not publish one. Its pricing page says “Pay fair. Only pay for what you use” and asks you to book a call. Workshop Software publishes three plans with the additional user rate and the annual discount on the page. The only GaragePlug figures anywhere are in-app purchase tiers on their US Apple listing, named GEAR0, GEAR1 and GEAR2 at USD $199.99, $299.99 and $399.99 a month. Those are App Store price points rather than published plans, they differ by country, and GaragePlug has not said what each includes, so treat them as a signal of scale rather than a quote. Whether that matters is a question about how you buy. If you want to weigh options on your own time, we publish and they do not. If you run a fifteen outlet chain that needs a bespoke quote anyway, a list price is close to irrelevant.
Accounting: the Row That Decides It for Most Western Workshops
Workshop Software connects natively to QuickBooks Online and Xero on every plan, and is a listed app on the Intuit QuickBooks App Store. Intuit reviews listed apps against its published technical and security requirements, and runs its own security scan of them every year. GaragePlug’s accounting story is thin and hard to pin down. Their integrations page returns a 404. Their help centre changelog records a Xero integration and later a Xero-format data export, which suggests an export rather than a live two-way sync, and there is no Xero page on their website and no listing in the Xero App Store. appears nowhere. QuickBooks appears only in third-party directories, and their own blog post on the subject goes no further than suggesting you may want to consider integrating. Their G2 reviewers raise accounting as a weakness directly. If your books are in QuickBooks or Xero and you want invoices and payments to flow without an export step, this row settles the comparison on its own.
Repair Times, Not Just Parts Data
Workshop Software connects natively to Mitchell 1 ProDemand and PartsTech on any plan, so manufacturer repair times and service data land inside the job card and you quote labour from real figures. Vehicle lookup is included through Carfax at no extra charge. GaragePlug is a certified TecDoc data integrator, which gives it parts and vehicle linkage data, and that is a genuine capability. Two limits are worth knowing: it is scoped to 12 Middle East countries, and parts data is not the same as a labour times database. There is no published repair times product, so quoting labour still comes down to your own rates.
Reviews: They Score Higher, We Have More
Both directions, because the numbers are genuinely mixed and a page that reported only one half would deserve to be caught out. GaragePlug holds 4.9 from 36 reviews on G2, 4.8 from 56 on Capterra and 4.2 from 14 on Techjockey. Those averages are above ours and they say something real about how their customers feel about the product. Workshop Software has 261 published reviews across three platforms: Google 4.2 from 159, Capterra 4.0 from 77 and the Xero App Store 4.2 from 25. More than twice the volume, at lower averages. Read it as better liked by a smaller group against assessed by a larger one. Neither is the same as being the right fit for your workshop.
Built for Different Parts of the World
GaragePlug is built for India, the Gulf and Southeast Asia, with channel partners in Indonesia, Saudi Arabia and Thailand, separate portals for India and everywhere else, Gulf tax compliance and WhatsApp as the primary customer channel. Those are the right calls for those markets and they are calls we have not made. Workshop Software publishes pricing for Australia and New Zealand, the United States, the United Kingdom and South Africa, hosts on Amazon Web Services in Australia, the United States and Europe, and runs support on Australian and United Kingdom business hours plus 24 hour chat. We could find no published support hours or reseller for GaragePlug outside India and the Gulf, which is worth asking them about if you are anywhere else.
Where GaragePlug Is Genuinely Strong
Chains. Inter-branch stock transfers, multi-outlet reporting, dedicated bay and shift modules, annual maintenance contracts and a loyalty programme, all actively developed. They also sell Gia, a standalone AI voice product that answers inbound calls, handles inspection approvals and runs a WhatsApp chatbot. We do not offer an equivalent. Workshop Software handles multi-site on Platinum, priced per site, with WorkshopWeb and the public API at the same tier. For two or three sites that is straightforward. For a fifteen outlet chain running maintenance contracts and inter-branch stock, GaragePlug is shaped for that business in a way we are not.
Which Should You Choose?
Choose Workshop Software if your books are in QuickBooks or Xero and you want a live sync rather than an export, you want to see a price before you take a sales call, you want manufacturer repair times in the job card, you operate in Australia, New Zealand, the United States, the United Kingdom or South Africa, you want support on Australian or United Kingdom hours plus 24 hour chat, or you want to weigh 261 published reviews. GaragePlug may suit you if you operate in India, the Gulf or Southeast Asia, you run a multi-outlet chain with inter-branch stock movement and annual maintenance contracts, WhatsApp is how your customers talk to you, you need Gulf or India tax compliance, or you want an AI voice product answering your phones. If you are outside their regions, the fastest way to decide is to trial ours and ask them for a quote. Start a free trial.
Still narrowing the field? See how the ten main alternatives stack up.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does GaragePlug cost?
GaragePlug does not publish pricing. Its pricing page says “Pay fair. Only pay for what you use” and asks you to book a call. The only figures published anywhere are in-app purchase tiers on its US Apple App Store listing, named GEAR0, GEAR1 and GEAR2 at USD $199.99, $299.99 and $399.99 a month, with no explanation of what each includes and different prices in other countries. Workshop Software publishes three plans on its website, starting at USD $149 per month on annual billing.
Does GaragePlug integrate with QuickBooks or Xero?
Not in any way they document clearly. Their integrations page returns a 404. Their help centre changelog records a Xero integration and a Xero-format data export, which points to an export rather than a live sync, and there is no Xero App Store listing. appears nowhere on their site. QuickBooks appears only in third-party directories, not in their own documentation, and their G2 reviewers raise accounting as a weakness. Workshop Software connects natively to QuickBooks Online and Xero on every plan and is a listed app on the Intuit QuickBooks App Store.
Does GaragePlug have vehicle technical data?
It is a certified TecDoc data integrator, which gives it parts and vehicle linkage data, scoped to 12 Middle East countries. It publishes no labour times database, so it will not tell you how long a job should take. Workshop Software connects natively to Mitchell 1 ProDemand and PartsTech on any plan for manufacturer repair times and service data, and includes vehicle lookup through Carfax.
Which has better reviews, Workshop Software or GaragePlug?
It depends whether you weigh average or volume. GaragePlug holds 4.9 from 36 reviews on G2, 4.8 from 56 on Capterra and 4.2 from 14 on Techjockey, all above our averages. Workshop Software has 261 published reviews across three platforms: Google 4.2 from 159, Capterra 4.0 from 77 and the Xero App Store 4.2 from 25.
Which countries does GaragePlug serve?
Its own claims range from 12 countries on the homepage to 15 on its why-us page, and its Capterra profile says 25, centred on India, the Gulf and Southeast Asia with channel partners in Indonesia, Saudi Arabia and Thailand. It runs separate portals for India and the rest of the world. Workshop Software publishes pricing for Australia and New Zealand, the United States, the United Kingdom and South Africa.
Is GaragePlug good for multi-site workshops?
Yes, that is its core strength: inter-branch stock transfers, multi-outlet reporting, dedicated bay and shift modules, annual maintenance contracts and loyalty. Workshop Software supports multi-site and franchise operations on Platinum, priced per site, along with WorkshopWeb and the public API at that tier.
Does GaragePlug offer a free trial?
A 7 day trial appears on its site. Workshop Software offers a 14 day free trial with every feature switched on and no credit card required, followed by human one to one onboarding and no lock-in contract.
Also Compare
- Workshop Software vs Shopmonkey
- Workshop Software vs AutoLeap
- Workshop Software vs Tekmetric
- Workshop Software vs Fullbay
- Workshop Software vs Orderry
- Workshop Software vs MechanicDesk
- Workshop Software vs Workshop Mate
- Workshop Software vs Auxo Workshop
- Workshop Software vs Hoist
- Workshop Software vs Garage Hive
- Workshop Software vs Mitchell 1
- Workshop Software vs Shop Boss
- Workshop Software vs Motasoft
Comparison based on information published by each vendor at the time of writing. Software pricing and features change, so please verify details with each vendor before you commit. Last reviewed August 2026.